Luke 9:18-27

'Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it. What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, and yet lose or forfeit their very self?'" (v. 23-25)

Sometimes my response to life's disappointments is… disappointing.  I'm more selfish than I'd like to admit. I don't like it when I don't get my own way, I don't like waiting, I want comfort and fulfillment and success and…

Here Jesus calls me to something higher, something better.  To give my ALL to Him. It's a high calling. Many days I fail to live up to it. Which is why I need His grace. And by His grace, here and now, I make this my prayer….

"Take the world, but give me Jesus."

Leave a Reply

