The Problem With Being a Dreamer

This is the second article I’m re-posted from my former-former blog. This one’s dated December 14, 2006, and in it I talk about one of my favourite passages of Scripture and what it meant to me at the time. It still means a lot to me now, and is a good truth to reflect on as I think about what God might have for me next year and in the years to come.

Last time I talked about the Problem With Being Creative. Now let me talk about my other problem: I’m a dreamer. The following is one of my favourite passages in all of Scripture. It encourages me to dream big dreams…

(3) Trust in the LORD and do good;
dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.

(4) Delight yourself in the LORD
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

(5) Commit your way to the LORD;
trust in him and he will do this:

(6) He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn,
the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.

– Psalm 37:3-6 (NIV)

I believe God wants to make our dreams come true. The problem is that it can be hard to see that sometimes. We get used to being disappointed. So we stop trying. We stop dreaming.

But I think God wants to give us our dreams. And Psalm 37 tells us how… “Delight” in the Lord (v.4). Worship Him, enjoy Him, make Him Your center of attention and reason for being. “Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart” — He’ll make Your dreams come true! This is true because as we delight in Him, we change. As we change, our priorities, our desires, our dreams change. We trust Him with our dreams. We commit those dreams to Him. We begin to pray, like Jesus did, “Your will, Father, not mine be done.”

I think our dreams can and will come true as we truly trust God, delight in Him and commit our dreams into His hands.

Before I started to sense God calling me into ministry, I had other dreams; stuff like being a rock star or a cartoonist. Obviously being a rock star was probably a pipe dream, but being a cartoonist seemed a little more likely at the time. So I was working as a graphic designer, but dreaming of “bigger things”…

When I went off to Bible college, I basically gave my own dreams to God and said “Your will, not mine, Lord.” Little did I know what that would mean. Sheesh, I never wanted to be a missionary, even after Bible college. But that’s another story. This story is about how I gave those dreams of creative occupations, and God gave them back to me; only, when I got them back, they suddenly looked a whole lot different.

I never got to be a rock star, but during and after Bible college I got to develop my musical side a lot, and had many good experiences playing and singing. Only now I was a worship leader instead of a grunge puppy rock star wannabe. I even recorded a CD. And I haven’t gotten to be a full-time, paid cartoonist, but I have been doing a webcomic for almost three years now, and finally have published my first book collecting those strips. And have I ever mentioned that I created SkitZo MaN about 13 years ago? Sometimes dreams just take longer than we’d like… That doesn’t mean we should give up on them!

And, as I briefly mentioned in my previous post, I’ve got this ongoing, evolving dream of bringing my creative side and my ministry side together into one “big thing”. What form this beast will take remains to be seen, but I’m continuing to work towards that every time I exercise my creative muscles (including writing this blog). And, as I’m preparing for ministry in Japan, I’m beginning to see how being a big comic geek (like me) could actually be an advantage!

All that to say keep dreaming…

As I said, these are good things for me to reflect on as I near another time of transition. In a future post I hope to share some more recent thoughts on knowing and doing God’s will, along with some quotes I’ve found encouraging along the way. Hopefully you can find some encouragement here as well.

2 thoughts on “The Problem With Being a Dreamer

Leave a Reply

