Weekly Re-Cap

I had a good time in Gifu last weekend. Did a testimony and played/sang some tunes. Thanks to everyone who prayed. There were a bunch of unchurched folks at the service, and everyone made me feel really welcome and like the guest of honour.

Meanwhile, back here in Nagoya, my own church’s outreach service was going down Sunday afternoon. Apparently there were a good bunch of visitors here too.

I got back to Nagoya later in the afternoon, and the outreach was over, but lots of people were still lingering. Some of the kids ran to greet me as I approached the building, and I stuck around to chat with a few people before going to my room. It really felt like “coming home”, which is a good feeling, considering I’m so far from my “home-home”.

Studies continue to get more difficult, and I’ve really got to buckle down over the next few weeks. Still got some catching up to do. It’s been a tiring week, and I’m looking forward to getting some rest over the weekend — as well doing housecleaning and stuff that’s piled up from being away (woohoo).

That’s a wrap.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Re-Cap

  1. Jose Gabriel

    Studies?
    What are you studying in Japan. Seminar, language or a different academic degree?
    I am from Ecuador. I lived in Japan for 9 months on 2005. I felt in love with the people. Now I am getting prepared to live in Japan and share the gospel.
    How did you end up studying in Japan?

    Reply
  2. Whitey

    Hi Jose — I’m studying Japanese at a local YWCA language school, in preparation for long term life and ministry here in Japan. It’s hard work but it is necessary and will be worth it I’m sure. As for how I ended up here… well, long story short, I originally came a few years ago because the opportunity fell in my lap. Like you I fell in love with the place, and the people. I suggest browsing the rest of this blog if you want to know more.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting! How did you find me?

    Reply
  3. Lor

    such a nice feeling when you find home where you are, especially when it comes through children. praying for your studies, your new language, you life of faith and simple goodness and faithfulness lived out in the land Abba gave you!!

    from, Harold ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

